Secret Wars and the Kang Dynasty

Marvel really wants people who have complained about the apparent lack of direction or focus in Phase 4 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe to know that there is, in fact, a plan — and yes, the Avengers will be repackaged.

As part of Blitzkrieg news Saturday during Marvel Studio’s Hall H panel at San Diego Comic-Con 2022, and after they just announced Full list stage 5Kevin Feige has updated Phase 6 and announced the “Avengers 4” and “Avengers 5” titles: “Avengers: The Kang Dynasty” followed by “Avengers: Secret Wars.”

“The Kang Dynasty” will be released in theaters on May 2, 2025. “Secret Wars” will follow on November 7, 2025, marking a shorter-than-year wait between “Infinity War” and “Endgame.”

These two films will conclude what Marvel says Phase 4, 5, and 6 is about: The Multiverse Saga. This is the new Infinity Saga, and it started retrospectively with “Loki”, “Spider-Man: No Way Home” and “Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness”.

For those of you who don’t know, “Secret Wars” got its name from Marvel’s groundbreaking mini-series “Marvel Super Heroes: Secret Wars”. It ran from May 1984 to April 1985, and happens to be the first company-wide crossover event in the history of comics.

The series was born when Marvel struck a deal with Mattel for a cast of characters. Mattel wanted a big crossover event to get the games launched, so then Marvel editor-in-chief Jim Shooter came up with the idea, based on repeated requests from readers for some of the events involving all Marvel characters.

The story is simple: a cosmic entity with unfathomable power becomes curious about Earth’s superheroes and super-villains, so it transports Marvel’s A-list heroes to an artificially built planet called the “Fighting Realm” and orders them to fight to the death. “I am from the outside! Kill your enemies and whatever you want is yours! Nothing you dream of is impossible for me to achieve.”

See also  Wordle Today: Here's Wordle's Answer and Tips for July 27

The simple premise heralded massive changes in the then-existing state of Marvel. Most famously, Battleworld is where Spider-Man picked up his black suit, which of course turned into a Venom symbiote. But the series also resulted in She-Hulk replacing The Thing as a member of the Fantastic Four, some character drama between the X-Men, and The Hulk having injuries that brought his angry, uncontrollable version back.

Of course there isn’t an X-Men yet within the Marvel Cinematic Universe, so if we’re to guess, “Secret Wars” is how we’ll meet for the first time. It’s all too easy to get kidnapped along with everyone else for the echo of what happened when Tony, Dr. Strange and Peter Parker meet Guardians of the Galaxy back in Avengers: Infinity War.

However, there is one thing: the fact that Kang is the main villain in everything that turns out to be the fourth and fifth stages indicates that it will be he, or rather, one of the seemingly limitless forms of time travel in Kang, who collects the new version of The Avengers, Instead of a Beyonder.

Speaking of Kang, “The Kang Dynasty” got its name from the 16-part “Avengers” story written by the great Kurt Busick that ran from 2001-2002. In it, Kang, in a nutshell, goes back to the 30th century and actually managed to take over the entire planet – destroying the United Nations headquarters in the process. Of course, The Avengers eventually stopped him, but at a huge cost.

"Avengers: Kang Dynasty" (marvel)
“Avengers: Kang Dynasty” (Marvel)
Marvel Studios
Marvel Studios

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.