Summer Games Festival “mainly focus” on games that have already been announced

The Summer Game Fest promotion will focus ‘mainly’ on games that have already been announced and will include only ‘two new game announcements’.

Presenter Jeff Kelly shared the news on Twitter in an audio stream transcribed by Chronicle video gamesduring which he asked fans to “surely manage your expectations” ahead of the E3-style show, which features games from multiple developers and publishers.

“We have a couple of new game announcements on the show and hopefully a few surprises if it all goes on,” Keighley said, “but it’s definitely a show that focuses primarily on the things that are being announced.

“We’re doing some good stuff for you but definitely managing your expectations in terms of the huge bumps you’re expecting. These aren’t game prizes. We have a lot of good stuff to show you but buyer beware of some of the crazy rumors I see in terms of things people are expecting to be announced” .

Keighley insisted that Summer Game Fest would still have great announcements, of course, using the Elden Ring trailer and release date revealed last year as an example of how new information about an already announced game can be as exciting as something entirely new.

Keighley also confirmed that Dead Space’s spiritual successor, The Callisto Protocol, will appear alongside Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, Gotham Knights, Cuphead: The Delicious Last Course, and Fortnite.

Besides the Elden Ring release date, last year’s Summer Games Festival revealed Tiny Tina’s Wonderlands, Metal Slug Tactics, Death Stranding Director’s Cut, and more.

See also  PlayStation Boss promises to plan more acquisitions

This year’s release takes place on June 9 at 11am PST / 2pm ET / 7pm UK (until June 10 4am EST) and can be watched live on IGN as part of Summer of Gaming.

Ryan Dinsdale is a freelance translator at IGN who occasionally remembers @thelastdinsdale’s tweet. He’ll be talking about The Witcher all day long.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.